Every year at the BRCA Annual Meeting, the organization honors the people and organizations who have helped move the Corridor forward with their commitment to excellence. These businesses and individuals exhibit the best in customer service, performance, and a lifetime commitment to the success of the Raleigh Community. Listed below are our winners for the 2018 calendar year.

Small Business of the Year

Burn Boot Camp

Our Small Business of the Year award is one given to a business in our community in honor of its years of outstanding service and contributions to the greater Blue Ridge Corridor. 

Katy and Kip Downer opened Burn Boot Camp West Raleigh in April 2017 with a desire to impact the West Raleigh community and ignite a global health transformation through empowering women to maximize the quality of their lives. With Katy’s background as a Doctorate of Physical Therapy and Kip’s background in finance and business, the opportunity to secure the rights to the 27607 market couldn’t be passed up. Burn West Raleigh, which celebrates its two-year anniversary on April 23rd, has quickly become a top location nationally after seeing a record-setting opening and growth last year that put them Number Three in the country.

The Burn Boot Camp mission states “We seek to build confidence, happiness, and disciplines that transcend fitness into a community of mentally, emotionally and physically strong women. We vow to educate, influence, and inspire every life we touch with knowledge in our heads, love in our hearts, strength in our bodies and passion in our souls.” The team is spreading its mission to other parts of the Triangle and are thankful to the B-R-C-A and its vision to make the Blue Ridge Corridor an inclusive destination.

Previous Winners:
2018 | Burke Brothers Hardware

Development Project of the Year

751 Corporate Center Drive

Each year, we honor a visionary development project that supports the Blue Ridge Corridor Plan and makes a significant impact on the local economy and community. 

751 Corporate Center is located at the intersection of Highway 54 and Corporate Center Drive. The project, developed/owned/operated by Highwoods Properties, designed by Hagersmith Design PA and built by JD Beam, Inc., has brought new jobs and vibrancy to a growing area of the Blue Ridge Corridor. Offering plenty of onsite and nearby amenities, this 90,000-square foot, Class A office building has drawn companies from the legal, tech and financial service sectors.

The building delivered in August 2018, complementing the rest of the three-building Raleigh Corporate Center complex. Attractive amenities create a lively, inviting atmosphere, including collaborative lounges, outdoor activity space, conference rooms, a cafe and a fitness center. North Carolina-based Ward and Smith, P.A. is the anchor tenant of 751 Corporate Center with 31,675 square feet and the overall development is now 98-percent leased.

Previous Winners:
2018 | NC Heart & Vascular Hospital – UNC Rex Healthcare

Government Employee Partner of the Year

Dr. Larry Wheeler, NCMA

Our Government Employee of the Year award is given to a local leader in appreciation for leadership displayed and continued efforts to make the Greater Blue Ridge Corridor community a distinct destination in Raleigh. 

Dr. Wheeler served 24 years as the director of the North Carolina Museum of Art, taking the helm in October 1994. During his tenure, he helped elevate the Museum to becoming one of the leading art museums in the American South. Major exhibitions, such as Rembrandt in America, Monet in Normandy and works from Rodin, have attracted hundreds of thousands of visitors from around the world.

Under his guidance, the Museum also saw an award-winning expansion take place, which was completed in 2010. The West Building presents works from the institution’s permanent collection and is surrounded by sculpture gardens and reflecting pools outside. The expansion project also transformed the Museum’s original building into a center for temporary exhibitions, collections management, education and administration. Dr. Wheeler retired in late 2018.

Previous Winners:
2018 | Joey Hopkins – NC Dept. of Transportation; Wesley Wyatt – N.C. State Fair